Past Recipients – 2017

23rd Annual Oakville Awards for Business Excellence Recipients

The award recipients of the 23rd Annual Oakville Awards for Business Excellence (OABE) held March 27th at the Oakville Conference Centre were announced and recognized for their exemplary models of business excellence and community service.

The OABE is a program of the Rotary Club of Oakville West in partnership with the Oakville Chamber of Commerce recognizing local entrepreneurs and businesses for the invaluable contribution they make to the Oakville community. Funds that are raised from partners, supporters and ticket sales of this gala event will benefit Rotary youth programs.

Eleven awards for business excellence in 2017 were presented to Oakville’s outstanding businesses and entrepreneurs. The award recipients are:

RBC Royal Bank Large Business of the Year
Naylor Building Partnerships Inc.
Photo: Michelle Waite (RBC Royal Bank), Denise Pallotta, Tom Hitchman and Laura Hitchman (Naylor Building Partnerships Inc.)


Small Business of the Year
iCare Home Health
Photo: Ken Smithard (Cogeco), Rick Menassa (iCare Home Health)


Bell Mid-size Business of the Year
Florence Meats
Photo: Damian and Carol Goriup (Florence Meats), Lena Demarco (Bell Canada)


Professional Services Provider of the Year
Positive Accounting
Photo: Raj Vallabh and Joti Vallabh (Positive Accounting), Tanya Leedale (O’Connor MacLeod Hanna, LLP)


Entrepreneur of the Year
Matthew Zarrillo of Zarr Tech
Photo: Matthew Zarrillo (Zarr Tech) and Ruth Todd (KPMG)


The Morris Mercanti Restaurateur of the Year
La Parisienne Crêperie
Photo: Mikael and Courtney Colas (La Parisienne Crêperie), Roberto Ficzere (Oakville Conference Centre)


Franchisee of the Year
Piper Foods Inc. (McDonald’s Restaurant)
Photo: Mark Eglington (Euro-Line Appliances Inc.), John Piper (Piper Foods Inc./McDonald’s Restaurant)


Young Professional & Entrepreneur of the Year (YPEG Award)
Paul Ferri of Limitless Training Systems
Photo: Paul Ferri (Limitless Training Systems)


Oakville Hydro Conservation Leadership Award
Canlan Ice Sports Corp
Photo: Mary Caputi (Oakville Hydro), Ken Male and Scott Lonsdale (Canlan Ice Sports Corp.)


CN Oakville’s Charity or Not-for-Profit Excellence Award
Crime Stoppers of Halton
Photo: Daniel Salvatore (CN) and Jan Westcott (Crime Stoppers of Halton)


Oakville’s Business Icon Award
Photo: Lois Knepflar (President of the Rotary Club of Oakville West), Michael LeBlanc (FCT), Drew Redden (President of the Oakville Chamber of Commerce)


Genworth Community Builder of the Year
Piper Foods Inc. (McDonald’s Restaurant)
Photo: Debbie McPherson (Genworth Canada), John & Marg Piper (Piper Foods Inc./McDonald’s Restaurant)


Please select a year below to view the OABE award winners from that year.